About me

Hey hey! Thank you for wanting to know more about me. As you might have figured out, my name is Mayte. For most of my life, I have been working on music. I’ve grown up doing it, and I can’t really remember my life without music. I started at 5 years old and have been exploring music ever since. Throughout my life, I started getting interested in teaching. This didn’t come as a surprise as I was teaching the youngest primary school kids how to dance in primary school breaks outside (and no, I had no clue what I was doing). I’ve always loved being around kids, whether they’re 5 months old or 10 years old. I got to explore teaching, tutoring, and actually being in front of a class. A few of my other hobbies/passions are numbers/maths (yes, really), making videos/films, doing musicals, babysitting and much more! If you’d like to go even more in-depth about me, keep reading.

Violin is, I guess, where it all started. I have no memory of ever not playing violin. I started when I was 5 years old after begging my parents for 2 years to allow me to start playing. I got accepted to the Royal Conservatory of The Hague, Young Talent class when I was 7 and stayed there till I was 15. By then, I wanted to experience “real” high school, so I started taking private violin lessons and attending a “real” high school. At 17, I started my bachelor classical violin studies at the Conservatory of Maastricht and recently graduated summa cum laude at 21. It’s been a genuine rollercoaster, and every performance and competition allowed me to see what the classical music world was like and explore the world.

Apart from violin, I quickly started to get a taste for other instruments. When I was about 6 or 7, I started private piano lessons. This also transferred to the conservatory when I got accepted. At the conservatory, I had to sing in theory lessons and later in the choir, which I absolutely loved. Singing those soprano lines made me smile from ear to ear. When I was 13, I started singing other genres like pop music. I actually started posting live covers of myself at that age as well, though when I started to do proper covers, I made those private as I was genuinely embarrassed… I still am, actually… My first proper cover was posted at 14, and it’s been a fantastic journey since!

I’ve had 2 years of singing lessons throughout my life, and I truly miss it. To create those covers, I started learning as many instruments as possible. In covers, I’ve played the guitar, ukulele, djembe, tambourine, other percussion, mandoline, cajon, cello and more! I so enjoy grabbing all the different instruments. Fun fact: I was part of a fanfare for a year in which I played the trumpet!

I also really love recording others and creating the complete picture for them. At my birthday parties, I used to go into a studio with a bunch of friends and record a song with them; those are some of my favourite memories. I wanted to provide that in the area I live in now, which is why my husband and I made our studio public, so others could also come and record songs! If you’d like to check that out, click here.

Music will forever be a big part of my life, and I can’t wait to see what the future brings music-wise.

I started teaching violin students when I was about 13. I loved the little group of students I had to leave behind when I moved out at 17. Their faces always made me happy, and they were so impressed when they could play something new. At 18, I had the opportunity to teach a music class in a primary school for a couple weeks. It was a fun experience, though I doubt you’ll see me teach music in a primary school anytime soon… At 19, I started tutoring in maths. I’ve always had a soft spot for maths and explaining the concept to kids, so it came pretty naturally. I tutored maths via 2 companies over a span of about 1.5 years and recently started for myself. I still absolutely love tutoring maths and homework support, so if you’re interested (online is also an option), check out my tutoring page here.

I’ve always loved recording and filming myself, I guess. Maybe it’s because of music, but it’s definitely something I find a lot of joy in. From filming to editing to releasing. I started creating those videos when I was 13 with a friend. Those are all really embarrassing, though, so when I started doing those videos on my own, I made those private. Most of those beginning vlogs are also private now, as I started out in Dutch, but as soon as I switched to English, I kept them all online. (Though I beg of you, don’t go down that rabbit hole… Nothing pretty awaits you there…). I went through several phases with that account. When I was 15, my little sister joined it for a while, and we changed the name to “Sisters Levenbach” (cute, huh?). At 16, we invited others to post their vlogs as well, but I took over the account again at 17 when I moved out of my parent’s home (and also changed the name). I did a few videos with my now husband, but as it’s mainly still me on that channel, the name changed back to include just me.

I've always wanted to open a webshop to sell products that I made or designed, other than my merch. But I could never take the leap. Well, I recently did take the leap and its result is "Note Nook". I'm so excited to work on more and more products and I hope you'll enjoy them too! The idea is: "made by musicians, for musicians and music lovers". If you'd like to check it out, click here.

Well, that’s a lot about me! If you’d like to know more about me, I’d highly suggest my vlog YouTube channel and Instagram. Instagram is my most used social media platform, and I’d love to connect more with you there! Thank you for reading this long page about me, and I really hope you enjoy the rest of my website!